essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

My Top Five!

with 5 comments

My Top Five!

Okay, I confess I do have a few products already. Here are my top five . . .

 Barry M Dazzledust 51, Mushroom

 

Yes, you may say it is neutral and yes, you may say you’re playing it safe because you can never go that wrong with neutral and you would be right but this colour is truly gorgeous on the eyes and what is more, it looks great in the pot too. It is subtly alluring with its little sparkly flakes. It twinkles and almost winks at me in the pot, whispering ‘put me on, put me on’. OTT but true all the same.

 I like the way that I can not pinpoint the exact colour of 51. Purple, grey, brown. Everytime I look at it, it looks a little bit different. The best I can say is it seems good for this time of year, earthy. It reminds me of stewing skies and the changing colours of leaves.

And like all dazzledusts, its intensity can be played up and down. A great day look then add a little more and maybe a flash of something sultry and it becomes the perfect smoky eye or it would be if my application, was a little more skilled but that is why I am here.

Two warnings though! Firstly, the fallout can be messy so I like to deal with my eyes before I start the rest of my face. Secondly, these dazzledusts are relatively cheap (I think mine was around £4.50) and addictive. When I discovered them, I must have brought twelve in as many days.

Barry M Lip Paint 100 Baby Pink

Okay, it is Barry M again but I have my reasons. Firstly, I don’t know if this beauty mission is just a fad and I don’t want to break the bank. Secondly, I like the colours I see and what I get. I have only tried lip and eye products from Barry M. None of the face stuff or powders has appealed to me (though I’ve heard good things about the nail paints) Barry M has a slogan about been the most colourful name in cosmetics and maybe it is perfect branding cos that is how I see them, colourrr! Anyway Baby Pink is hardly a bright, bright colour but I like what it is. A pretty pink. My lips are strange and I have never got on with lipsticks, glosses. I’m eyes all the way but for probably the first time ever, I stop and go back in to the house to rub out my lips with concealer and put this lipstick on. Maybe it is the novelty of pink lips- my lips are a weird, orangy, red nothing colour- but I get a buzz wearing this and feel more like me then ever. This lip paint is currently retailing on the Barry M site for £4.25. Hmmm, nice stocking filler . . !

 Benefit Erase Paste No 1 Fair (advertised at £18.50 in their holiday 2009 brochure)

This actually is one of my own finds pre-mission. I have been wearing this for a couple of years and it is the only concealer I have been loyal to or to be honest, really used. I’m not sure if I’m meant to but I use it for the bags under my eyes, I conceal them with a triangle under my eyes and for me, it works. I also use it for the wretched little lines between my mouth and nose but I don’t actually tend to use it for spots much. I just don’t like putting anything different on my spots or making a fuss. Ignore them and they will go away, is just my gut instinct. That is not to say, I’ll always go bare faced but I treat the blemished area the same as the rest of my face. Maybe foundation and possibly a little powder.

I have heard good things about Powderflage and would like to try this. However, at the moment I can not afford to have two Benefit concealers on the go. 

Ghd Thermal Protector

This is the first time that I have used this heat protector spray but I do like it even though that pang it left in my purse is still resonating. I believe I brought it in a hair salon for over £10. I have hair extensions and both they and my natural hair are in much better condition since I started using this spray. I do not know if it is down to this particular spray or that I am just trying to take better care of my hair lately anyway. Whatever the case, I have nothing bad to say about this product. Again it is pricy but just like a tub of Erase Paste, one bottle of thermal protector lasts a long time.

L’Oreal Double Extension Beauty Tube Mascara

This seems to be one of the more expensive drug store mascaras. It is currently retailing online at Boots for £10.99. However, it was the first thing I brought after watching tutorials on YouTube, every ‘guru’ seemed to be talking about it in the summer. It consists of a white primer which you apply to the lashes before applying the black mascara in the other end of the tube. Considering the hype, I was initially disappointed with this mascara. My lashes have length but lack volume and this didn’t seem to add any volume. My lashes just looked spidery with the odd clump here and there. However, I think maybe less is more and when I started to apply less primer, my lashes looked much more glossy and groomed. It may just be me but I also thought that this mascara looked significantly better when I curled my lashes. I know eyelash curlers generally make the eye more attractive but I feel with this mascara, there is a very significant difference and I’m not sure that I would use both ends of this mascara if I was not going to use an eyelash curler as well. Now I love this mascara and once on, it has brilliant staying power but I don’t think it is one I can apply just like that without thinking.

So with these products, do you think my mission to make more of myself is off to a good start? What other products do you suggest?

 

x

         

 

        

 

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Considerably, the post is really the greatest on this worthwhile topic. I fit in with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your next updates. A simple thanks will not just be adequate, for the fantastic usefulness in your writing. I will right away grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Delightful work and much success in your business endeavors!

    Liza Simpson

    January 15, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    • What a lovely comment, thank you so much. Please do keep reading, I will be posting on Ardell again soon!

      essjay23x

      January 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm

  2. Benefit erase paste is apparently really good, however is very pricey. I’ve seen before and after photo reviews of it and I’m amazed by the results. I must get it soon to cover my dark eyecircles.
    For my eyes, I use supereyes by soap and glory. It’s an eye gel and it soothes eyebags and it almost works instantly. Really love it; check it out if you have time :)

    Huong

    January 26, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    • I love Soap and Glory so probably will be able to make time. Erase Paste really does rock and for me, it seems to last months and months!

      essjay23x

      January 26, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  3. I noticed your site when I was looking for something not related at all, but this page was one of the first sites listed in Google, your site must be incredibly popular! Continue the awesome job!

    Jackie Branch

    February 2, 2010 at 9:20 pm


Leave a comment