essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

Snap!

with 2 comments

Snap!

Hey Girlies!

A lovely day today, lipstick swatching this morning and down to the beach this afternoon.

While messing around with my lipsticks, I discovered two things.

Firstly that Collection 2000’s Crystal Pink is beautiful. A very light baby pink with some shimmer. I wore it today over Gosh Darling and with All That Glitters.

Secondly, I think I may have found a close dupe for Viva Glam Cyndi. The beauty in question is a lipstick from Rimmel, Gold Digger.

 

Now I’m not sure if you can still purchase Gold Digger- I think I brought mine pre-mission and I can not find it on the Rimmel website- but to me, it looks the same in tone and intensity to Cyndi. In fact, I honestly can not remember for sure which swatch is which. I think the top one was Gold Digger and the bottom one was Cyndi. Here they are with and without flash.

Neither of them are a classic, classic showstopping red. Even with the bling in Gold Digger, both of these lipsticks seem a bit more understated.The only difference is evident when it goes on the lips, there is a some shimmer *Bling* in Gold Digger but with things being all summery at the moment then it might be worth checking out. I’m not sure about the staying power of Rimmel lipsticks, I don’t remember wearing many recently but I would hope that they are similar to Maybelline and I get on perfectly well with Ambre Rose. Despite been an old lippie too, I was surprised to find how easily Gold Digger applied and how soft it felt on my lips.

I also popped in to a couple of shops while I was at the beach. There was a large Superdrug and it seems the Famous range from Sue Moxley is having a bit of a revamp. There was a lot of clearence items including my beautiful brows kit which I think they were selling off for £4. This kit is very useful. I do use mine a lot if I’m taking the time to groom my brows. With the three different powders that it includes, it could be a good investment for somebody who is always changing their look (make up/hair colour).

I also spotted a palette of four eye colours in the range that I have eyed up before, Cafe Culture. It always catches my eye. Luckily (or maybe not) before I could pick it up, I was distracted by some large square single eyeshadows marked as new for £4 (I think?!), wow! There were some beautiful purple, blue, black and smoky colours. I thought they looked quite unique too. I mixed a couple of the purpley ones on my hand. The swatch lasted all the way home from the beach so that I could take a picture for you.

So gorgeous and in reality, seems quite pigmented. If you squint, you may also spot a swatch of Barry M lippie 129, the lavenderish one, lower in the picture. Another beautiful product, I really regret not buying something shiny and new today.Local Superdrug, expect a visit very soon!

I also saw some new Rimmel lipsticks from the Colour ShowOff collection. They are being marketed for the day, night and the red carpet. I loved all of these too especially Pink Gossip but must remember to keep an eye on the offers. They seemed to be on offer in Superdrug today (£1.something off) but not Boots.

Of course, every perfect day has to be finished off with a little spritz of something. Today I sprayed Clinique Happy Heart and Ghost Captivating. I think it is the Happy Heart whose lovely, gentle scent mixed so prettily with the the sand and my sunny mood. The scent is still lingering now and making me feel all pretty.

Has anybody checked out Famous? I like the idea of this brand and I’m not sure really why I do not have more from this brand, this may slowly change.

X

Written by essjay23x

April 17, 2010 at 7:50 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have nominated you for an award here:

    http://bamboozlebeautyblog.blogspot.com/2010/04/sunshine-award.html

    xx

    Jemma

    April 18, 2010 at 11:05 am

    • Aww, thank you, Jemma!:)

      essjay23x

      April 18, 2010 at 1:06 pm


Leave a comment