essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

An Audrey of an apology!

with 2 comments

An Audrey of an apology!

 Girlies!

So sorry that I have not posted much over the last week or so. Last week was just one of those weeks but that week has gone now and hopefully normal service can now resume.

Anyway amid all the strangeness, I also got a little bit lost. Lost, Scott Barnes and Audrey Hepburn style.

I mentioned Audrey Style (Audrey Style by Pamela Clarke Keogh) in my last post. Well, I am now halfway through and this book is brilliant, brilliant reading. Even in her own life, it seems Audrey really was the most extraordinary character. With amazing dress sense, obviously! And then of course, there was her make up sense and her grace. This lady seemed to carry herself in all the right ways and this magical quality (which I’m trying to trek down, can’t find it in Boots though. Funny, that) just seems to draw people to her. Even now. I think she is the only famous person that I have never heard anybody have a dig at or criticise in the slightest.

The designer that Audrey worked closest with was Hubert Givenchy (the designer who believed that a dress was not something you wore but something that you lived in) and it is in the beautiful dresses and creations that resulted from this partnership, where we really see The Hepburn Style blossomed. She said of him “There are few people I love more.” Not surprising when you see the beautiful outfits he designed, the cocktail dress in Sabrina et al. Although apparently Audrey was no pushover. She may have been a lady but she knew what she liked and what she didn’t, both on her own body and in fashion.

Anyway there are some amazing pics in the book with some very inspiring style ideas but here are a few that I found online (Google Image search. I do not own any of the copyright etc and if the owner of the copyright insists then I will delete their beautiful image obviously) in tribute to the oh so fabulous one. You may have seen some of them before but well, who could ever tire of the Audrey pics?! Enjoy!!!

 

 

 

Make up wise, it strikes me more that Audrey looks polished rather then ‘made up.’ She seems to have used make up to define, enhance and polish the features she already has. I’m hoping with the help of Viva Glam Cyndi, I may be able to pull off some sort of Audrey-inspired look. All I need to do is find some pearls and sunglasses. And I’m thinking hats or a headscarf. . !

What do you think? Do you like the Hepburn Style? How do you think she may have influenced you? What is your favourite Audrey film? What was that? Roman Holiday?! Yay, I’m with you.

X

PS If you have not done so already, check out Laura’s blog (Emerald Green, link in the sidebar). She is having a giveaway for a gorgeous Revlon Lilac nail varnish but I think, it ends tomorrow. Have a lookie, Laura’s blog is soo useful. Also Vex In The City has a post about a promotion that Boots have for some of the lucky advantage card holders. Extra points, yay, I hope I’m one of the chosen few!! 

Written by essjay23x

March 24, 2010 at 8:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I watched Breakfast At Tiffany’s for the first time a few weeks ago and I definitely need to see more Audrey films soon, she was so fab!
    Thanks for the little mention, glad you’re back!

    Laura

    March 24, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    • Thank you, Laura! Breakfast at Tiffanys was my first Audrey film too and is maybe my second favourite all time. You must check out Roman Holiday, I loved it!! :-)

      essjay23x

      March 24, 2010 at 8:54 pm


Leave a Reply

