essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

Waving goodbye to the uninvited!

leave a comment »

Waving goodbye to the uninvited!

Uh oh, you would think that I would know not to tempt fate but no, I tempted and now, I have a slight crisis.

Over the last couple of weeks, I have noticed a few skincare posts floating around. Now I am very proud of the fact that about eighteen months ago, I pretty much cleared my back which is the only place I’ve ever had a MAJOR spot problem. It took a while to clear but, after a few months, it was a good job done for Slave Clearasil, Slave Routine and Slave I. So I commented on a couple of posts more or less sharing this and I also mentioned, how I always seem to have one or two spots somewhere but never ones that are too big, blotchy or in a great number. In other words, blemishes were part and parcel of my daily living but not something that I worried about.

So on Tuesday morning, of course, I woke up to a crisis of the spotty kind. Thankfully, it wasn’t on my face but it was just below in the decollatage area. An area I tend to keep exposed. Somewhere too low for much concealing make up to be applied ‘naturally’ but too high to be covered by any of my tops.

I had no choice but to wear these spots but I decided there and then, as soon as I spotted them in the mirror (imagine admiring new Satin Taupe eyeshadow and then seeing them as your focus moved down, eurgh. They seem to come from nowhere, horrible moment.) that we wouldn’t be style partners for long. If they were going to turn up uninvited then they would have to enjoy whatever entertainment I threw their way. Ok actually, they were going to have to endure whatever methods of elimination I bombarded with them until they ceased to exist.

So an action plan was drawn up and supplies procured. Please note, I’m not sure why I’ve given up on the Clearasil, it wasn’t responsible for these gatecrashers. The Clearasil products were only ‘on the door’ on my back. I think it was just that my current tube and bottle were nearing the end and I knew that I would need something to cover the new area too. In the back of my mind, I’ve always been planning to take a more natural route so let me introduce you to the members of my new troop who are going to win this battle with me.

Deep Sea Spa Magik Salt Brushing

I decided to get this Dead Sea Salt product to exfoliate as I don’t just want spot-free skin, I want flawless skin!

Exfoliation is something that I should be doing anyway (and usually do but I get a bit lazy repurchasing when I run out) and I guess it more or less scraps all of the bad stuff away. I have dry combination skin so it is important that I let the bad, dead skin go. My new skin needs to breathe and also moisture needs to be able to get down in to my skin. Exfoliation removes any obstacles and I believe this is the case too with greasy skin. Dead greasy skin flakes can become an obstacle as they are greasy and stick to the skin instead of falling away.Of course, if we exfoliate and remove all this dead skin then not only will moisture be able to get through and hydrate the skin but my other gorgeous products will also be able to work more effectively on the skin cells that are not about to flake away. Whichever way you look at it (and I expect some areas of my body are actually greasy or oily rather then dry), exfoliation is key.

My Clearasil wash was also a scrub. So I really wanted to keep exfoliation in the equation. This is not the time to be withdrawing parts of my skin care especially an aspect as important as exfoliation. I chose this brand because it is natural and this is the brand who produced the Magik hair serum sample that I raved about after Christmas. The only question mark that lingers over this product is the fact that it is meant to be applied to dry skin and then rinsed off. I’m finding it hard to work in to my dry skin. The product has Coconut oil in but a lot of it still seems to fall to the floor. I normally use scrubs that are applied to wet skin. Maybe with a shake (of the pot) and practise . . ! It does have a lovely healthy scent. It smells like I’m doing good when I’m using it and so far, it hasn’t stung or irritated.

Optima Australian Tea Tree Organic Tea Tree Deep Cleansing Skin Wash.

This is to replace my Clearasil wash. I used tea tree as I always think it equals spot treatment in the world of natural remedies. Is that right? I know that it has been used for years on the skin. Apparently, this product also has Lemongrass, Bergamot, Eucalyptus and Aloe Vera which all sounds very good. Aloe Vera is supposed to calm things down. I don’t understand Parabens yet. All I know is that they can be bad news so maybe this product is good as it has none.

I like this as a product. It is a bit thicker then some washes, almost like a gel or thin jelly, and feels very nice to apply. It also lathers easily. It doesn’t feel particularly medicinal.

Herbal Authority Tea Tree Oil Lotion 15%

As spot treatment is the focus, we have tea tree again. This is to replace the Clearasil toner/deep pore treatments and I apply it directly to the skin. This does feel more medicinal and has that very clean, overpowering tea tree scent but hey, if it is going to do good work then I may have to get used to it. I also use this product if I have a bath. I apply one to two capfuls of this instead of bubble bath/ bars etc. It is not as much fun or anywhere near as lovely smelling as the Comfortor but I do get out feeling clean and with skin that feels revitalised.

Warning, this is where the gross pic of Spot Attack comes up. If you don’t wanna see, I can’t blame you. Run away now and come back when all the nasties have gone away. Soon! ;-)

For those who continued, thank you!

The battle is to be won with my little spot-fighting super duper troop of products (all purchased at Holland and Barrett). I’m just not sure when yet. It has being almost a week and the initial problem has calmed down a lot. This is where we are now.

If I had woken up wearing these spots last week then I would not have been quite as distressed as I was. I did take a picture last Tuesday but I deleted it. I couldn’t put that up on here. Things are now better and I don’t mind showing you where I am now at but there is still some work to be done, I want to clear this area completely and then after that, it doesn’t matter how gorgeous they smell, I must go easy on the perfumed body lotions. I’m pretty sure that they were the trigger. You know how I love scent and one way I make it last all day is to smother this area in scented lotion as it is the one area out in the open where the scent can freely waft from and the one area that does not get too wet (compared to hands etc) and where the scent does not get washed away in my day to day routine. I think I just blocked everything up. I’ve had a similar reaction overdoing it with Johnsons baby oil before.

What about you? When it gets tough, what approach do you take? Natural or the most scientifically advanced products out there?

Thanks for getting to the end, us girls are made of strong stuff (and demon spots should remember that)!

If you want to cheer me up, then you could always comment (nicely!), subscribe and/or tweet with me!

Have a fab evening, Girls!

X

 

 

Written by essjay23x

March 1, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

