essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

Archive for February 11th, 2010

No Fashion Haul From London Town!

with 2 comments

No Fashion Haul From London Town!

Hi Girlies!

I hope you are all well. I am, I spent yesterday in London Town. 

That always gives me a bit of a buzz. So inspiring but I was quite good and spent very little even though I had actually given myself a bit of a leeway to spend but instead, the Fashion Challenge really hit home.

I think I could fail.

I just haven’t got a clue at the moment when I walk in to all the fashion retailers, I ACTUALLY found TopShop hard work. I felt like I was performing the perfunctory until I got to check out all the make up and beauty bits ( areas where I did spend a bit more, can you believe I have fallen in love with another MAC lipstick?! I’m the girl who doesn’t do lips, remember?). There are some beautiful items around but none of them really fit what I’m looking for and those that do are similar to things that I don’t really need or have numerous of ie, anything in black. I must stop buying black!

I have often thought about seeing a stylist or getting my colours done just as a one off to give me some direction or something but I don’t know, I’m afraid that I won’t agree with them or that I won’t be able to see what they see or that I’ll lose ‘me’, whoever that is.

However, I certainly need a bit more focus. Yesterday, I didn’t really know what I was looking for. I had the whole of Oxford Street and more yet I walked away with not one item of new clothes. Girls, I’ve let you down esp. when I moan so much about there never been anything new or different in my local shops.

Generally in life, I’m a bit of a list person. I write what I need to do, blah, blah and then tick it off but I’ve never wanted to limit my shopping like that. I’m scared if I say today is the day I am going to buy a new bag then I will just buy one because that is my mission today. I’ve always been inclined to think that if something catches your eye when you’re not particularly looking for it then it must be pretty special and worth buying but this kind of approach does not seem to be working anymore. It is time for my shopping habits to grow up!

I really need to look at what I’ve got, tidy my wardrobe and then slowly fill the gaps. I must make the time to do this and hopefully then I’ll realise that I need very little and maybe I’ll find a gem I’ve forgotten about. Hmmm, wardrobe spring cleaning may not be so boring after all.

What about you, how do you shop for clothes? Have you ever sought style advice? What is your most worn item? Has this most worn ever been something that you considered fashionable or is there something else about it that makes it so special? Don’t forget, my competition closes this weekend!

X

PS If anybody is trying to get in touch with me by e-mail, please use essjay23x@yahoo.co.uk rather then my old hotmail address. The hotmail one no longer works. :-(

Written by essjay23x

February 11, 2010 at 8:40 pm