essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

Survival kits and pretty prizes.

with 5 comments

Survival kits and pretty prizes.

Hi girls

I don’t know if very many of you know but Sophie aka BeautyMarked19 ( http://www.beautymarked19.blogspot.com ) is currently doing a blog series where once a week or so, she is going to feature an extract from fab but less known blogs and then link you to that blog so if you’re interested then you can learn more, I think this is a great idea and will be following the series with interest. I love finding new people to follow and what amazes me is how different every new blogger, I find, is to all the others. We are all so unique.

So far BeautyMarked 19 had featured one blog and wow, she started with the series with a bang. The first blog featured was PearlsandPoodles from the lovely Milly ( http://www.pearlsandpoodles.blogspot.com ). I can not believe Milly has only been blogging three weeks. Already she has covered so much, make up; outfits of the day; jewellery collections; her Sunday plans. Her posts are always so easy to read and pretty. She seems so happy and such a breath of fresh air. To be honest, I’m jealous. The girl was born to blog!

One of my favourite posts is her desert island one and at the end, she tagged anybody who wanted a go. Well, here we go . . . across the sea towards the sun.

Hmm, this looks like a nice place to get stranded!

Ok. . , I borrowed the image from Milly but let’s squeeze our eyes tight and concentrate on dreaming . . . isn’t this island beautiful and guess what?! We’re castaway here for the foreseeable future. What a shame ;-) but always prepared (ahem), here are the five items in my survival kit.

1/ Supremya At Night

 

I want this. I wanted it as soon as I saw it named the best night cream in InStyle Best Beauty Buys this year. It looks gorgeous in its golden tube and make-up guru Ruby Hammer is quoted as saying people thought she had botox after she’d used it and apparently a little goes a long way which is always helpful if you’re stranded.

There is only one problem and that is the price. £435 but then my skin hates the sun and this island looks pretty sunny. Paradise it maybe but I’m going to have to look after my skin and the only thing better then been stranded on this desert island is been stranded on the desert island and then looking ten years younger when I hit the mainland again.

Also think of all the Barry M and MAC that I won’t be able to buy while I’m stranded. Ha! In the circumstances, this cream could actually be a good value investment.

Yes Mr Bank Manager, honestly!

2/ Hollywood Smile

Well, it is sunny. It is hot and in this dream, I’m castaway with lots of hot, tanned men so I’m going to be smiling and for this I need white teeth. ;-)

I have used tubes of Hollywood Smile before when I have had a special occasion coming up and I would say my teeth do always seem to go lighter by two or so shades within about four weeks of use. The only downside is that once the tube runs out and I start going back to normal toothpaste, my teeth suddenly do not look as white anymore.

3/ Soap and Glory Easy Glistening Dry Oil Body Gloss

Milly says sun-tan lotion is provided. This is all very good but my skin can be a menace. Without sun tan lotion, I’m fried and look like a tomato in seconds. With sun tan lotion, I stay my normal ghost white. I never just tan or get that sun kissed glow so I’m going to take a bottle of this along to fake some kind of radiance. I love this product for it’s ability to make my skin look shimmery, healthy and young but also the scent. As you know I am obsessed with pretty scents and perfumes. The smell of this product is gorgeous. Sometimes I do not need to wear perfume with it and I can just imagine how beautiful and even more vibrant this lovely sweet scent will be when it is encounters the heat of this tropical island. As if it isn’t gorgeous enough already?!

4/ Vaseline

Here I snap with Milly but this year, this product has been my saviour. Many of you will know how it helped during My Great Dry Lip Crisis of January 2010. I love this product and now it is my lips absolute best friend, I know that I can rely on it to be just as much of an angel when I’m stranded in paradise and I bet I’ll be glad of it when I burn my hands on the camp fire or am bitten by a shark.

Plus I heard about another use today. I was reading some comments to Mushines latest post (http://bubblegarm.blogspot.com/2010/02/scent-sational.html). Ella Pretty said that if you place vaseline on your pulse points before you spritz perfume there, the scent will linger longer. I’m guessing it could work the same for my Soap and Glory Dry Oil.

5/ An umbrella

It looks like paradise but don’t they always say that nothing is as good as it seems? Well as these five items are my only things on this island, I’m going to make sure that when I use them, they are not washed away by a sudden downpour straight after application.

Plus you know I have been very brave not taking a hairdryer or strighteners with me . . ! And hey if my luck does change and it is just sun, sun, sun all the way then I have something for shade and protection.

So there we go, that is my survival kit! I have gone for subtle beauty products. Ones that give the impression of general health and radiance and will look afer me somewhere, so far away from home. After all, what use will mascara be if I’m blinking in to the sun sixteen hours a day and been pompelled with rain for the other eight hours?!

So as you know mine now why not share your survival kit below in the comments (remember that could help you in qualifying for my competition, see the competition post) or do a post on your blog? I would love a peek and it is a fun tag to do.

Back to Milly, she has just reached 200 followers in like 15 posts. Wow! She is having a giveaway to celebrate and included in the prize stash is the gorgeous Aqua dazzledust and a very hot pink one, a gorgeous pearl necklace, love hearts and more! As you can see, a really unique stash that compliments her blog beautifully. http://pearlsandpoodles.blogspot.com/2010/02/my-pearlie-girlie-giveaway.html

Ooh and while we are talking competitions and such like, don’t forget you still have time to enter mine. See the competition post ( https://essjay23x.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/competition-time ) .

Also check out the Beautylicious blog, Jo is having a giveaway now she has reached 250 followers and the winner gets a MAC lipstick and lipsglass of their choice. ( http://www.beautyliciouslove.com/2010/02/250-followers-giveaway.html  )Again a fab (and very generous) prize!

Until next time, enjoy the sun on your (dream!) island!

X

 PS Please note all images were from Google Image unless stated.

 

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I keep meaning to do this tag! I wish I could afford a £435 moisturiser, maybe when I win the lottery!

    http://emeraldgreen88.blogspot.com

    Laura

    February 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    • Yep, a must-buy for all lottery winners. If I ever win the lottery, I will buy it and maybe I will buy a couple extra to giveaway!

      essjay23x

      February 9, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    • PS You should do the tag, Laura. It is fun but a lot harder then I first thought.

      essjay23x

      February 9, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  2. i always have vaseline in handy!! definately one of the top beauty products. x

    Huong

    February 9, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    • And it doesn’t cost the earth, don’t you just love it? ;-)

      essjay23x

      February 9, 2010 at 9:48 pm


Leave a Reply

