essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

A Lip Experiment!

with 4 comments

A Lip Experiment!

As many of you are aware, it has been very cold and wintery in England over the last couple of weeks and for me, it was a wake up call. I need to look after my lips!!!

I have never been very keen on my lips. I have only got in to lipstick/glosses recently. Before that, I wore mainly Skinny Dip by Benefit or a little clear gloss when I went out and that was about it. I didn’t touch or think about my lips otherwise and so, last Saturday was payback.

My lips were red, puffed up and sore. In fact, I was afraid to touch them in case they started bleeding. I didn’t know what to do. I have never really took much notice of my lips (until very recently and then only to slap a new favourite colour on but I have never really looked after or fed them) and last Saturday, I could not ignore them. They hurt!

A bit of a crisis so enter Mum with some Vaseline and oh my! Another cliche but I declare that Vaseline is . . . magic! My lips instantly felt smooth and even when I went to apply the magic a second time, just a few hours later, my lips were less sore and less ugly. By Wednesday, I would say they had recovered and in fact, that they were in better condition then they were to start with. Phew, a bit of a close call!

Lesson learnt, I now apply Vaseline religiously every few hours. It is a new obsession. I am even considering investing in a balm,Baume de Rose (£32) by Terry, that Lollipop26 (http://www.lollipop26writes.com) raves about. From now on, my lips are Queen and they will be dressed like one.

Thankfully the puffiness, that was part of the trauma last week, has gone. However, my lips still seem a little plumper then pre-trauma. Yay, I hope that is the Vaseline!

So thinking about my lips  so much has got me thinking about lip products which led me to Cupids Bow, a double-ended lip pencil from Benefit.

You use the lighter pink end to outline the v shaped bow on your top lip. This should highlight and emphasize the shape. Apparently this is the most attractive part of the lip.

Then you use the darker end of the pencil to line the centre of your bottom lip, this is meant to make the lips look fuller.

Well, lets see what happened

The photo above show my lips before with just vaseline.

This is my lips after . I used a little concealer then Barry M 100 and Cupids bow before and after the lipstick application in the places mentioned earlier (Who was in a rush and forgot to apply the Barry M 100 to the insides of her lips?! Oops).

Was there a difference? Yes in the mirror, there was no doubt. In these photos, I think you can see that the lips look bigger The lighter lipstick seems to have helped there too. I tried this with my old staple, the darker nude, Benefit Skinny Dip and my lips although bigger did not look this big.  Also, I’m not sure if you can see here just how defined my bow was afterwards and for me, this was the most exciting part.

This has got me thinking about colours and contours. I remember reading an article a few weeks ago in a Sunday supplement saying that lips would be big in 2010 but with a different lip colour on the bottom and top lips. Of course, I think they had an outrageous example like bright yellow on one lip and bright green on another but maybe I could try this. With one shade lighter on the top lip and darker on the bottom. After all, sometimes I use two foundation shades to contour my face, why not for the lips or what about just doing this in the centre of the two lips and blending? Maybe I could use Barry M 100 with concealer on the bottom lip to give it more substance and then just the Barry M on top and what could I do with Amethyst? What about glosses? Gloss on top and extra coats of lippie on the bottom. There are so many things that may work, I’m going to have to have another play and depending on the results, I might share a pic or two with you.

 What do you do to show your lips off? What about plumping products? Is the sting in some of the lipsticks and glosses worth the plump they give you? Your lip stories are most welcome here.

Until next time, take care!

X

Written by essjay23x

January 16, 2010 at 8:47 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I bought some Palmer’s Dark Chocolate and Peppermint Lip Butter a while ago, and I love it. It was really cheap too – less than $5AU in my local supermarket. I guess it’s basically a flavoured Vaseline.

    As far as lip plumping products go, I’ve tried a couple, but not many as I’m cynical about them. I have thin lips, though, and I hate that. I bought a treatment product that I talked about here:

    http://angriestgirl.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/not-quite-a-trout-pout-maybe-more-of-a-goldfish/

    It works, but it’s not instantaneous. The kit it came in also had a thing called a 3 Minute Lip Party Mask or something, which supposedly *is* instantaneous, but it didn’t really do anything for me.

    Dee

    January 16, 2010 at 10:24 pm

  2. Hey Dee! Is that the same Palmers who make Cocoa body butter, ooh? We have some smaller vaseline tins just for lips and I think you can get them in different flavours. The big jar is working ok at the mo but the mini ones could be useful when I’m on the move. Then again, I have a track record of forgetting I have all these miniatures and tend to leave them forgotten at the bottom of my bag!
    I’ve just read the review on your Dimitri serum. Two questions 1/ Do you know how quickly the effect would wear off if you stopped using the product? 2/ Did you rebuy?! :-)

    essjay23x

    January 17, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    • I would definitely buy it again. I don’t know how long the effect takes to wear off, as I’ve been using it consistently since I bought it a couple of months ago. I’d imagine it would only take a few days, given that it’s just a surface treatment.

      My only complaint about it is that the packaging is rubbish. The pump stopped working on mine three weeks ago when it still had 2/3 of product left. I just unscrew the lid and put a bit on my finger or a cotton bud now, but it’s kind of annoying. The pump bit only goes about a third of the way down the bottle. Very stupid!

      Dee

      January 18, 2010 at 3:24 am

      • Oh, I never realised how important packaging and design was until I got in to all this making more of myself marlarkey but it really does affect how you view the whole product. Companies need to start taking heed!
        Am gonna put this serum on a list of products I want to look in to further. Thanks!

        essjay23x

        January 18, 2010 at 6:56 pm


Leave a Reply

