essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

Something About Sofia

leave a comment »

Something About Sofia

 

This is a Crescent Row Set from Benefit. This one is Something About Sofia. Who wouldn’t want to be her ( whoever she is but on the back of the box, it says that she lives in a dream where magic begins!) and isn’t the packaging exquisite? The doors open up to reveal a 30ml eau de toilette inside and a 60ml body lotion.

These little bottles too are beautifully designed and so different from many of the clear or slightly tinted bottles on the market at the moment.

After sampling a tester, I placed this and My Place or Yours Gina (Another Crescent Row)on my Christmas list and this is the one I recieved. Now I have only worn this perfume over two days since Christmas. Why, so little?

Well initially this perfume did not smell like the tester. When you first spray it, it is very strong (especially if you spray it like me) and the oriental notes did seem overwhelming. My Dad found it too much (creosote!) and had a coughing fit! I wanted to wash it straight off but I persisted even though the oriental note was much too heavy for my liking. It smelt like there was too much incense burning somewhere and I’m not keen on incense to start with. By lunchtime though, I was surprised to remember that I had this perfume on. I could no longer smell the oriental note, unless I put my nose to my skin!! In fact, I could smell little except a slightly sweet creamy smell now and again. I doubted this was the perfume and thought instead it might be my Soap and Glory body butter.

Not one to give up on perfume easily, I decided to give this perfume one more chance the next day. The missing oriental note confused me. It would be wrong to say the perfume was heavy when this note disappeared so quickly.

The second time, I sprayed it. I sprayed less and yes, as I sprayed it again it was overwhelming but the the note seemed to subside in about twenty minutes and the sweet smell of yday returned again so with no butter on, I’m pretty sure that this is the perfume and I like that bit. I still am a bit reluctant to let anybody stand too close to me though, just in case.

I’m very doubtful if this is going to be a favourite but I do wonder if it is a grower. I have used perfumes before which initially I was not sure of but later become a staple in my collection. I have never completely disliked a perfume yet.I will keep you informed.

I have just swatched a little of the lotion while doing this review and my inital reaction is better then the one I had for the perfume.

Has anybody tried this Crescent Row or any of the others? I do wonder if I would have preferred the Gina one? Do you think sampling at a counter can give you a true indication of how much you will like a perfume?

X

Written by essjay23x

January 10, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

