essjay23x

A Sincere but Light-Hearted Mission To Make More of Myself!

Basic Beauty

with 6 comments

Basic Beauty

Imagine how pleased I was to get this for Christmas . . .

 

A Soap and Glory Gift box. Yay, I adore Soap and Glory. I love the smell of the products esp, the body glow. Sometimes the smell of this is better and more lasting then that of fragrances twice the price. I just love the whole kitch marketing thing. The whole 40s/50s (?) thing seems so glamorous. Less Chav and more Hepburn. Sometimes it is nice to feel clean as the marketing alludes. Anyway there I was, very happy with my gift box. There was the gorgeous box and then inside body butter, body wash and a shower cap!

 

 

That is right, a shower cap!!!!

 

Well, you can imagine my thoughts. Why would I want a shower cap (which incidentally everybody insisted I model at the grand present opening, cue laughter) when Soap and Glory could quite have easily put another quality product in such as that lovely body glow and shimmer or a lip butter?!

Fast forward, 10 days and guess what? I have used that shower cap more then any of the other products and it is now a staple in my daily routine. I use it to protect my hair from the humidity and frizzing when I wash. When I apply my new clinque and make up, I use it to keep everything out of the way. And now I will probably use it to keep everything out of the way when I apply tan.

Such a simple little product but I so easily could have overlooked it and yet it might keep my hair that much sleeker and my tan that much more even, that it just might take me a little step further forward on my mission.

So now I’m wondering what other simple beauty tips I may have overlooked in my haste to research the latest cream or the latest make up must have?

What are your simple beauty tips? And don’t you think that actually as far as shower caps go that this is the cutest little one, you’ve ever seen?! ;-)

X

Written by essjay23x

January 5, 2010 at 5:03 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ADORABLE shower cap… I think I would be tempted to wear it as a beanie out of the house! haha, kidding, but really, it is so cute! Great present!

    Cute blog, by the way… I’ll keep reading.

    Brittany

    January 5, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  2. Ohhh, I love retro-vintage-looking things. We don’t have this brand in Australia, sadly.

    Dee

    January 5, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    • Soap and Glory is a great brand. I think it is an in-house brand of one of our drug stores, Boots. Even here I don’t think it is as well known as it deserves to be.I’ve always struggled to think of anything negative when it comes to beautiful Australia. For many of us Brits, Australia is the ultimate escape. However, poor you, no Soap and Glory. . !

      essjay23x

      January 6, 2010 at 3:02 pm

      • Well, at the moment it’s Summer, and where I live (Adelaide), we get stinking heatwaves every year, so that’s kind of a negative for me! Not good for the wearing of the makeup, either.

        Dee

        January 7, 2010 at 7:16 am

        • Meanwhile, most of the Uk has shut down due to snow. Strange to think that it is summer somewhere!

          essjay23x

          January 7, 2010 at 9:21 am


Leave a Reply

